A yearly review of 2012

The Tampa Bay Rowdies won the 2012 NASL Soccer Bowl with a penalty shootout victory over the Minnesota Stars.  A 3-1 win canceled out a 2-0 Stars win in Minnesota from a week earlier, then Rowdies keeper Jeff Attinella made three saves during the shootout to secure the victory for Ricky Hill's side.

The San Antonio Scorpions won the 2012 regular season, fisnihing on top of the final standings two points clear of the Rowdies.  The Stars claimed the final playoff spot and having eliminated third place finisher Puerto Rico Islanders 2-1 in the quarter finals, shocked the Scorpions with a 2-1 away win in the semi final second leg after a 0-0 draw at home.

The Carolina RailHawks enjoyed a 3-1 win over the Fort Lauderdale Strikers before falling to the Rowdies 2-1 after a 3-3 draw away from home.


NASL Golden Ball- Pablo Campos, San Antonio Scorpions
Awarded to the player of the year, during the NASL regular season, as voted by a panel of journalists covering the league from the media markets of each of the member teams.

NASL Golden Boot – Pablo Campos, San Antonio Scorpions
Scored 20 regular season goals
Awarded to the leading scorer in the NASL regular season, based on goals scored (assists as tie-breaker only).

NASL Golden Glove – Daryl Sattler, San Antonio Scorpions
Kept 13 clean sheets and had a goals against average of 0.79
Awarded to the goalkeeper in the NASL regular season that has achieved the lowest Goals Against Average

NASL Fair Play Award- Tampa Bay Rowdies
Awarded to the team with the best discipline record in the NASL regular season, based on fewest red and yellow cards.

NASL Regular Season Champions - San Antonio Scorpions
Awarded to the team finishing first in the standings during the NASL regular season.

NASL Champions– Tampa Bay Rowdies
Awarded to the team that wins the NASL Playoffs Final Round series on aggregate goals.

Coach of the Year– Rick Hill, Tampa Bay Rowdies, received the inaugural trophy