A yearly review of 2011

The NSC Minnesota Stars (pictured above receiving the Soccer Bowl trophy)  capped a successful 2011 Inaugural NASL season by being crowned Champions after defeating the Fort Lauderdale Strikers in the NASL Championship Series. The Carolina RailHawks won the NASL Regular Season title and were led by Golden Ball winner Etienne Barbara, and Coach Martin Rennie whose success led him to take the reins of the Vancouver Whitecaps of Major League Soccer (MLS). The RailHawks won 10 consecutive league games between late April and early July.

The Puerto Rico Islanders led by Head Coach Colin Clarke successfully defended its CFU Caribbean Club Championship and finished 2nd in the Regular Season. FC Tampa Bay qualified for the playoffs for the first time in its existence finishing the Regular Season in 3rd.

Expansion side FC Edmonton reached the playoffs. The Alberta based club competed at a high level all season long with a roster that contained several home grown youngsters. The NASL bid farewell to the Montreal Impact who finished 7th in the Regular Season and after a successful two decade run at the Division 2 level joined MLS.

2011 also saw the return of the Atlanta Silverbacks to competitive action after a two year hiatus. The San Antonio Scorpions prepared for the league debut in 2012 by working hard in the local community while beginning to process of signing players and coaches. The NASL also announced the addition of a new club in Ottawa, Ontario.



NASL Golden Ball - Etienne Barbara, Carolina RailHawks
(pictured above)

Awarded to the player of the year, during the NASL regular
season, as voted by a blue ribbon panel of journalists covering
the league from the media markets of each of the member

NASL Golden Boot - Etienne Barbara, Carolina RailHawks
(pictured above)

Awarded to the leading scorer in the NASL regular season,
based on goals scored (assists as tie-breaker only).

NASL Golden Glove - Evan Bush, Montreal Impact

Awarded to the goalkeeper in the NASL regular season
that has achieved the lowest Goals Against Average (minimum
1,350 minutes played).

NASL Fair Play Award - FC Tampa Bay

Awarded to the team with the best discipline record in the
NASL regular season, based on fewest red and yellow cards.

NASL Regular Season Champions - Carolina RailHawks

Awarded to the team finishing first in the standings during
the NASL regular season.

NASL Champions - NSC Minnesota Stars

Awarded to the team that wins the NASL Playoffs Final
Round series on aggregate goals.