#ThrowbackThursday: NASL World Cup Players

With the commencement of the 20th FIFA World Cup set for later today in Brazil, this week’s edition of ‘Throwback Thursday’ takes a look the players from the 'Golden Era' to have represented their countries in the global event.

Over 50 players from 22 countries that span five continental regions have taken part at the FIFA World Cups from Sweden 1958 to United States in 1994.

From legendary New York Cosmos forward Pelé, who previously led Brazil to its first World Cup in 1958, to San Diego Sockers’ striker Hugo Sanchez final FIFA appearance with Mexico 36 years later, the NASL has been represented at the world stage event.

Below is the listing of NASL Golden Era Players at FIFA World Cups:

Player (Country) NASL Team(s) FIFA World Cup
Javier Aguirre (Mexico) L.A. Aztecs Mexico 1986
Carlos Alberto (Brazil) New York Cosmos/California Surf Mexico 1970
Adrian Alston (Australia) Tampa Bay Rowdies Germany 1974
Arsene Auguste (Haiti) Tampa Rowdies/Ft. Lauderdale Strikers Germany 1974
Alan Ball (England) Philadelphia Fury/Vancouver Whitecaps England 1966
Gordon Banks (England) Fort Lauderdale Strikers England 1966, Mexico 1970
Julio Baylon (Peru) Rochester Lancers Mexico 1970
Peter Beardsley (England) Vancouver Whitecaps Mexico 1986
Franz Beckenbauer (Germany) New York Cosmos England 1966, Mexico 1970, Germany 1974
Vladislav Bogicevic (Yugoslavia) New York Cosmos Germany 1974
Peter Bonetti (England) St. Louis Stars Mexico 1970
William Brown (Scotland) Toronto Falcons  Sweden 1958
Ivan Buljan (Yugoslavia) New York Cosmos Germany 1974
Roberto Cabañas (Paraguay) New York Cosmos Mexico 1986
Omar Caetano (Uruguay) New York Cosmos England 1966
Carmelo Cedrun (Spain) Baltimore Bays Chile 1962
Giorgio Chinaglia (Italy) New York Cosmos Germany 1974
Cho Jeung Young (Korea Rep.) Portland Timbers, Chicago Sting Mexico 1986
Bobby Clark (Scotland) San Antonio Thunder Mexico 1970
Johan Cruyff (Netherlands) LA Aztecs, Washington Diplomats Germany 1974
Teofilo Cubillas (Peru) Fort Lauderdale Strikers Mexico 1970, Argentina 1978, Spain 1982
Leo Cuellar (Mexico) San Diego Sockers, SJ/Golden Bay Earthquakes Argentina 1978
Iraj Daneifard (Iran) Tulsa Roughnecks Argentina 1978
Kazimierz Deyna (Poland) San Diego Sockers Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Willie Donachie (Scotland) Portland Timbers Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Andranik Eskandarian (Iran) New York Cosmos Argentina 1978
Eusbebio (Portugal) Boston Minutemen, Toronto Metros-Croatia, Las Vegas Quicksilver England 1966
Elias Figueroa (Chile) Fort Lauderdale Strikers England 1966, Germany 1974, Spain 1982
Archie Gemmill (Scotland) Jacksonville Tea Men Argentina 1978
David Harvey (Scotland) Vancouver Whitecaps Germany 1974
Jim Holton (Scotland) Miami Toros, Detroit Express Germany 1974
Bernd Holzenbein (Germany) Fort Lauderdale Strikers Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Geoff Hurst (England) Seattle Sounders England 1966
Wim Jansen (Netherlands) Washington Diplomats Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Helmut Kremers (Germany) Calgary Boomers Germany 1974
Rudolf Josef Krol (Netherlands) Vancouver Whitecaps Germany 1974, Argentina 1978, Spain 1982
Bob Lenarduzzi (Canada) Vancouver Whitecaps Mexico 1986
Peter Lorimer (Scotland) Toronto Blizzard, Vancouver Whitecaps Germany 1974
Francisco Das Chags Marinho (Brazil) New York Cosmos, Ft. Lauderdale Strikers Germany 1974
Juan Carlos Masnik (Uruguay) New York Cosmos Germany 1974
Peter McParland (Northern Ireland) Atlanta Chiefs Sweden 1958
Dale Mitchell (Canada) Vancouver Whitecaps, Portland Timbers, Montreal Manic Mexico 1986
Bobby Moore (England) San Antonio Thunder, Seattle Sounders England 1966
Gerd Muller (Germany) Fort Lauderdale Strikers Mexico 1970, Germany 1974
Johan Neeskens (Netherlands) New York Cosmos Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Bjorn Nordqvist (Sweden) Minnesota Kicks Mexico 1970, Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Jose Oscar Bernardi (Brazil) New York Cosmos Argentina 1978, Spain 1982
Pelé (Brazil) New York Cosmos Sweden 1958, Chile 1962, England 1966, Mexico 1970
Rob Rensenbrink (Netherlands) Portland Timbers Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Wim Rijsbergen (Netherlands) New York Cosmos Argentina 1978
Julio Cesar Romero (Paraguay) New York Cosmos Mexico 1986
Hugo Sanchez (Mexico) San Diego Sockers Argentina 1978, Mexico 1986
Antonio Simoes (Portugal) Boston Minutemen, SJ Earthquakes, Dallas Tornado England 1966
Williem Suurbier (Netherlands) LA Aztecs, San Jose Earthquakes Germany 1974, Argentina 1978
Carl Valentine (Canada) Vancouver Whitecaps Mexico 1986
Francois Van Der Elst (Belgium) New York Cosmos Spain 1982
Jose Manuel Velazquez (Peru) Toronto Blizzard Argentina 1978, Spain 1982