SAS Photo

Preseason Recap: San Antonio Scorpions 1 Deportivo Saprissa 1

A second half goal from defender Greg Janicki gave the hosts San Antonio Scorpions of the NASL a 1-1 draw against the 29-time Costa Rican First Division Champions, Deportivo Saprissa, in an international friendly to close out the 2014 preseason on Saturday evening at Toyota Field.

"It was a good result against this team Saprissa," said Janicki after the match.  "It was a great ball from Danny (Barrera) and it was long waited goal that we deserved."

The three-time winner of the CONCACAF Champions Cup (now Champions League), Saprissa took the lead in the 30th minute with a penalty kick goal from forward Ulises Segura after a foul inside the 18-yard box by the defender Adrian Cann.

The Scorpions looked for the equalizer and came close on chances from Polish striker Tomasz Zahorski and Trinidad & Tobago defender Julius James but the score remained 1-0 in favor of Saprissa going into halftime.

In the second half, the Scorpions continued their pressure towards the goal of Saprissa with the goalkeeper posting several key stops.  However, in the 79th minute San Antonio notched the equalizer when Janicki scored off a corner kick from Colombian forward Danny Barrera.

Midfielder Walter Restrepo had a chance for the game-winner with seven minutes remaining but his shot went wide of goal for the 1-1 final score.

The encounter was the first meeting between the Scorpions and Saprissa, who was also the first Costa Rican team to qualify and finish third at the FIFA Club World Cup in 2005.  It was also the first visit by Saprissa to the state of Texas since the 2008 Champions’ Cup.

The Scorpions are scheduled to kick off the 2014 NASL Spring Season when they greet Minnesota United FC on April 12.

International Friendly

04.05.2014: San Antonio, Texas; Toyota Field


Greg JANICKI 79’ – Ulises SEGURA 30’ pen

San Antonio Scorpions: David Bingham - Jonathan Borrajo, Greg Janicki, Adrian Cann, Stephen DeRoux, Danny Barrera, Richard Menjivar, Julius James, Shaun Saiko (55: Sainey Touray), Tomasz Zahorski (64: Eric Hassli), Walter Restrepo (90: Jonathan Faña).  Booked: DeRoux 53’, Janicki 60’

Deportivo Saprissa: Danny Carvajal, Sergio Cordoba, Luis Flores, Luis Rojas, Keysher Fuller, Dylan Tejeda, Dylan Flores, Deyver Vega, Joshua Mungvia, Ulises Segura.