RailHawks Post 2-1 Win Over Mexican Side Puebla FC In Friendly

Host Carolina RailHawks of NASL posted a 2-1 win over two-time Mexican First Division (Liga MX) champion Puebla FC in an international friendly at WakeMed Soccer Park on Sunday.

“Great team result tonight," said RailHawks coach Colin Clarke.  “Puebla showed they are a very good side and it is good to get another victory.”

The crowd of 6,155 saw the RailHawks take a 1-0 halftime lead after a goal from defender Connor Donovan off a corner kick from midfielder Gabe Latique in the 38th minute.

In the second half, South African midfielder Ty Shipalane made it 2-0 in the 66th minute off an assist from forward Nick Zimmerman.

Puebla, who also captured the 1991 CONCACAF Champion’s Cup (now Champions League), got on the board with three minute remaining when midfielder Francisco Javier Acuña found the back of the net, however RailHawks held on for the victory.

Carolina’s win was also the first by an NASL team over a Mexican club in the ‘Modern Era.’  The last time a NASL squad defeated a side from south of the border was during the ‘Golden Era’ when the host Los Angeles Aztecs topped CD SC Cruz Azul, in a shootout 1-0, on March 17, 1981.

RailHawks return to action just before the start of the NASL Fall Season this Wednesday (July 9) when they put their 23 home-game unbeaten streak on the line as they take on FC Dallas of MLS in the quarterfinals of the 2014 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup. 

Carolina will commence NASL play on Saturday, July 12, when it host Indy Eleven.


International Friendly

07.06.2014: Cary, North Carolina; WakeMed Soccer Park (A: 6155)


Connor DONOVAN 38’; Ty SHIPALANE 66’ – Francisco Javier ACUÑA 87’

Carolina RailHawks: Tyler Deric – Uriah Bentick (67: Connor Tobin), Connor Donovan (67: Austen King), Leo Osaki, Jordan Burt (77: Justin Willis), Nick Millington (67: Jun Marques Davidson), Nick Zimmerman (67: Enzo Martinez), Gabe Latigue (67: Nazmi Albadawi), Braian Cyrino (67: Cesar Elizondo), Franco Figueroa (63: Ty Shipalane), Aaron King (67: Daniel Jackson).  Booked: none


Puebla FC: Alfredo Frausto – Alfredo Juraidini (77: Francisco Javier Acuña), Juan De La Barrera, Luis Lorona, Edgar Mejia, Gerardo Espinoza (80: Eduardo Perez), Marlon De Jesus (72: Alberto Acosta), Michael Orozco, Saul Villalobos, Luis Esqueda, Mario De Luna.  Booked: none

TD: Norberto SCOPONI

R: Charles CARSON (USA)