Match Preview: Carolina Railhawks vs. Los Angeles Galaxy


TV: WRAL2                          

Radio: 99.9 The Fan ESPN Radio, 99.9HD-3 The Ticket


Carolina RailHawks vs Los Angeles Galaxy

Carolina RailHawks will put their 22-game home unbeaten streak on the line when they host the four-time MLS Champion Los Angeles Galaxy at WakeMed Soccer Park for a second consecutive year at the U.S. Open Cup.  Last year, forward Zack Schilawski assisted on both second-half goals (scored by Austin Da Luz, Brian Shriver) for Carolina as it defeated Los Angeles, 2-0, during the Open Cup’s Third Round on May 29, 2013.  RailHawks, who have a 6-1-2 Open Cup record since 2011, reached this year’s Round-of-16 after topping the visiting CD Chivas USA of MLS, 3-2, on penalty kicks on June 14.


Scouting Report On NASL Opponent

Founded in 1996, Los Angeles Galaxy were one of 10 teams that competed in the inaugural MLS season that year.  Along with its four MLS Cups, the Galaxy’s trophy case includes four regular season league crowns, two Open Cups and a CONCACAF Champion’s Cup (now Champions League) – which L.A. is the last U.S. club to win that title.  Galaxy, who are in their 14th Open Cup and hold a 23-1-11 record, advanced to this year’s Round-of-16 by posting a 2-1 win over host Arizona United SC of USL PRO on June 18.  Bruce Arena, who’s U.S. Men’s National Team All-Time Winningest Coach, has been in charge of the Galaxy since 2008 and the team is currently seventh in the MLS Western Conference with a record of 4-4-5 (16 points). Forward Gyasi Zardes currently leads Los Angeles in scoring with two goals at this year’s Open Cup.   


Last Meeting Between The Clubs

2013 U.S. Open Cup Third Round

05.29: Cary, North Carolina; WakeMed Soccer Park (A: 8121)


Austin DA LUZ 59’; Brian SHRIVER 61’

Carolina RailHawks: Akira Fitzgerald - Floyd Franks, Kupono Low, Austin Da Luz (80: Brian Ackley), Ty Shipalane, Julius James, Nick Millington, Kevin Rutkiewicz (74: Paul Hamilton), Jordan Graye, Brian Shriver (90: Eddie Ababio), Zack Schilawski.  Booked: Shipalane 43’, Schilawski 83’


Los Angeles Galaxy: Brian Rowe – Colin Clark (62: Robbie Rogers), Hector Jimenez, Tommy Meyer, Leandro (78: Chandler Hoffman), Rafael Garcia, Michael Stephesn, Charlie Rugg (56: Gyasi Zardes), Jose Villareal, Kenny Walker, Greg Cochrane.  Booked: Walker 44’




Team Recognitions


• 2010 USSF D2 Professional Regular Season Winner

• 2011 NASL Woosnam Cup

• 2013 NASL Woosnam Cup



• 1996 MLS Runner-up

• 1997 CONCACAF Champion’s Cup (Champions League) Runner-up

• 1998 MLS Regular Season Winner

• 1999 MLS Runner-up

• 2000 CONCACAF Champion’s Cup (Champions League)

• 2001 MLS Runner-up

• 2001 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup

• 2002 MLS Champion (and Regular Season Winner)

• 2002 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Runner-up

• 2005 MLS Champion

• 2005 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup

• 2006 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup Runner-up

• 2009 MLS Runner-up

• 2010 MLS Regular Season Winner

• 2011 MLS Champion (and Regular Season Winner)

• 2012 MLS Champion

2014 Open Cup Stats Leaders

CAR-Goals – Nazmi Albadwi, Jun Marques Davidson, Zack Schilawski (1); Assist – Nazmi Albadawi (1)

LAG-Goals – Gyasi Zardes (2); Assists – Stefan Ishizaki, Robbie Rogers (1)


RailHawks Coach’s Quote

“The Galaxy have been one of the best teams in the United States for the past 10 years.  It’s always a great opportunity going up against them in the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and it will be a great match for our fans.  We expect a tough match and it will be a challenge, but we are looking forward to it.” – Colin Clarke


Referee: Fotis Bazakos
Asst 1: Mark Cahen
Asst 2: Bill Dittmar
4th: Jose Carlos Rivero